Why Create?

This question has been weighing heavy on my mind as of late. My canvases pile up and my interest in painting comes and goes like the clouds. When I picked up my brushes again after nearly 20 years I knew that I had something inside that I had to get out of me into the world. Then I put the art out there and people liked it, people commented on it and people bought it and wanted more.  So I started to paint what I thought people would like, that “people” would buy.  So I’ve had a dry spell these last couple of months. No paintings sold, no shows other than the Fine Grind Coffee Shop. So I began to question why I was painting. Was I painting for approval? Was I painting to make money? Or was I painting for me, to get that “thing” out of me? I wasn’t sure anymore. I have to admit the last couple of paintings haven’t been easy. Ultimately the only way to get them to work was to make them work for me. So I suppose that’s really what it’s about, is making the art for me, not for anyone else. Following my instincts has always been dicey for me but the lesson of trusting is an important one. I’m going to do my best to enjoy the journey and not get so caught up in the destination.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

