Gallery Crawl

What a week of seeing art! I saw the last paintings of Joan Mitchell at Cheim & Reed. I saw two shows of photographer Vivian Maier (Steven Kasher Gallery & Howard Greenburg Gallery). I saw the Willem De Kooning retrospective at the MOMA.

The Joan Mitchell show touched me in it’s clarity of color and line. After reading her biography it was even more mystifying how someone with such “issues” could paint so beautifully. Maybe it’s true that you need pain in order to express in such a poetic way. http://www.cheimread.com/publications/joan-mitchell-the-last-paintings/

The Vivian Maier story is just so fascinating. http://vivianmaier.blogspot.com/
The nanny with the camera and no one ever saw her photos until now.

The De Kooning retrospective was fabulous with the exception of the gazillon people that were there with me viewing it at the same time. I need to remember to go on a weekday morning, not on the last weekend of the exhibit. His painting was so fabulous. I’m not a big fan of his 50s work with the woman series but his later abstracts are just breathtaking. His combination of color is unmatched. As I was reading about his life, I learned his first aspiration was to be a commercial artist. He was working as a house painter at the time, making $25 a day. He finally got his dream job in commercial art and at the end of the week he got a $25 paycheck for the week!! He quit on the spot and went back to house painting. That really made me feel like I wasn’t the only one who thought commercial art isn’t worth it!

I also read a review of Damien Hirst by Jerry Saltz http://bit.ly/woLyJT

If that guy can make money from their art anyone can.  What a load of …. anyway, I’m fired up for the new year and looking forward to creating my best work yet. I’m looking into getting a solo show somewhere. I’ve applied to a few places so fingers crossed and if you have any hot leads please pass them along.

Cheers and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

