Copy Cat

Last night, I had my students bring in some of their favorite artist’s work or at least research some paintings that they like. As I remember them saying in school, “Just keep copying until you get your own idea.”  I had forgotten how useful that lesson is. I hadn’t copied anything in ages. I knew how to paint, what was the point? Last night in class, I copied a Joan Mitchell, which honestly as much as I admire her work, I never attempted.

I found that the process of trying to get in the other artist’s head was a great learning experience. I had to use different techniques to get the desired affect to match the original. It bumped me out of my routine which I always like. It was a small vacation from painting “like me”.

Leave a Reply

