Focus

 

I feel good if I can encourage other people to follow their dreams. I guess, if I’m putting that out into the world then it’s ok for me to have some success. (Yes, I have guilt when something good happens to me.) There’s a piece of me that feels bad on some level that it does come relatively easy for me, probably from being a only child, who always gets what they want. I feel bad for others stuck in a rut and can’t get out. For me, I see a clear golden path out of other people’s ruts.  It takes time and it doesn’t happen overnight. It’s long hours and obsessive consistency.  I live, breath, and sleep art to the annoyance of all around me, but I wouldn’t have gotten as far without that insane focus. I guess that’s why you have LOVE what you do because no one can give that much energy to something that they don’t love. Most people are in arranged abusive work marriages with no love. It’s no wonder so many people are so unhappy.  My uncle used to tell me the old saying, “If you do something you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.” It’s so very true.

If you’d like to come see me and my work in person I will showing at “Collecting Art: An Affordable Art Fair” at the Montclair Art Museum in Montclair, NJ on Saturday, June 2nd. from 10am to 5pm. All the work at the fair will be under $500. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

