Relax

 

I heard a story the other day. It was about a young man from India who left his small village to study in the United States. After he completed his studies, receiving a MBA in business, he returned to his small village. His uncle, a fisherman, was relaxing next to the water after catching all the fish he wanted for the morning. The young man said “Uncle, why are you relaxing? There is still plenty of time to catch more fish today?” And his uncle replied, “I have caught all I need for today. Why should I go catch more?” and the young man replied “So you can make more money!” “Why would I want to do that?” said his uncle. And the young man said “So you can buy a bigger boat and catch even more fish!” And again his uncle replied “And then what?” and the young man said, “Then you can make enough money to have a factory and have employees and make lots of money!” And once again the uncle said “Why would I want to do that?” And the young man perplexed by his uncle said “So you can retire and relax!” And his uncle answered, “But, I’m relaxing right now.”

I sometimes get so caught up in marketing myself,  I forget why I paint to begin with. I paint because I enjoy it. I paint because it makes me happy. I could spend hours every day painting if that’s what I wanted to do. Sometimes, I fool myself into thinking that I need to make more money painting so I’ll have time to paint but I have time to paint right now. I should just do that instead of spending so much time focused on selling paintings. I kind of felt like that at a recent art fair. I kept thinking, I don’t want to be sitting here selling, I want to be painting. So, I think that’s what I’ll do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Comments

  1. Excellent post! I think many artists (myself included, even that I don’t consider myself an educated artist, just an artist in my heart) fill that we need to sell and often we forget WHY we are creating the art. Because of the thrill of the process of creation! Because it’s makes us HAPPY!

Leave a Reply

